Shibari and rope Bondage

*******brat Woman
1,248 Posts
Thread creator JOY-Team 
Shibari and rope Bondage
Restraints, bondage, shibari - for many of us these terms have a great fascination and for some the emotional, erotic, but also artistic handling of the rope even becomes a driving force in their sex life.

Learn more about Shibari in our A to Z: S is for Shibari

We want to know:

If bondage is something new to you or you're curious to try it or you already have a lot of experience - what fascinates you about it?
If you already have experience with bondage: What tips can you give to newbies?

Best
Servicebrat
JOY-Team
Profilbild
****shi Man
214 Posts
Hi Servicebrat,

thank you for the posting.

I've been tying since the mid-1980s, and indulged in the Japanese SM scene for many years before 'coming out’ in Germany a decade ago. So, you could say I'm a beginner... and always will be.

The basic tips I could offer newbies would be:

1. The adventure is with your partner. Not with the rope.

2. Learn slowly. Don't rush to suspend. In the end, you'll find you will learn far more from the partner/s you tie than from anywhere else. Grow together.

3. Beware of those claiming how long they've been doing it (see above), who they learned from, what invented styles or schools they follow, etc. These don't ask you why you want to be tied up. Watch out for narcissistic gurus. Most Japanese recognise their fantasy realms.

4. ‘Shibari’ is just a word for which we have our own in our language/s. Beware of those implying what it might mean, or where it might come from when they haven't travelled widely in Japan, don’t speak a word of the language, and haven't played/tied with nationals. Japanese cultural, societal, etiquette, hedonistic, etc. ideals are not the same as ours. We can only hope to scratch the surface.

5. A good teacher will teach how to find your way, not theirs.

6. Be aware of the commercial bandwagon. Lots have jumped on it to capitalise on the unwitting.